NJs 2022-23 County Teachers of the Year!


New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) yesterday announced the 21 educators who have been named the state of NJ’s 2022-2023 County Teachers of the Year.

“These 21 educators are exemplary models of the kinds of dynamic teaching that takes place in New Jersey’s classrooms,” said Governor Phil Murphy. “The quality of our schools is driven in no small part through the strength of our teaching workforce, represented by these County Teachers of the Year. It’s no wonder New Jersey public schools are among the best in the nation.”

“Today we recognize the next cohort 21 County Teachers of the Year for their dedication, effort, and service. Educators have a profound and lifelong impact through their ability to ignite the minds of young people,” said Dr. Angelica AllenMcMillian, Acting Education Commissioner. “Their work contributes to the success of their students in the classroom and into adulthood. Congratulations to all of our 2022-2023 County Teachers of the Year!”

The County Teachers of the Year will network with educators throughout the state and serve as ambassadors for New Jersey’s public schools during the upcoming school year.

A panel of educators will select the New Jersey State Teacher of the Year from among the 21 County Teachers of the Year based on written applications, video submissions, and interviews with the top finalists.

The New Jersey State Teacher of the Year is typically announced at the State Board of Education’s October meeting and will go on to represent New Jersey in competing for the title of National Teacher of the Year.

Individual schools nominate exceptional educators for County Teacher of the Year through the Governor’s Educator of the Year Program, which promotes a positive school culture by acknowledging the hard work and dedication of outstanding teachers and educational services professionals.

More information is available on the Governor’s Educator of the Year Program webpage.

New Jersey's 2022-2023 County Teachers of the Year:

(County – name – position – school – district)

Atlantic – Brenna Baker – Biology Teacher – Absegami High School – Greater Egg Harbor Regional High School District

Bergen – Gina DiMaggio – English Teacher – Lyndhurst High School – Lyndhurst School District

Burlington – Sarah Sherman – English Teacher – Rancocas Valley Regional High School – Rancocas Valley Regional High School District

Camden – Michael Weppler – Mathematics Teacher – Winslow Township Middle School – Winslow Township School District

Cape May – Stephen Serano – Culinary Arts Teacher – Wildwood High School – Wildwood School District

Cumberland – Jennifer Carbone – Science Teacher – ExCEL Program – Bridgeton Public School District

Essex – Kristen Dunleavy – Special Education Teacher – Redwood Elementary School – West Orange School District

Gloucester – Lisa Dolby – English Teacher and Teacher of Students with Disabilities – Delsea Regional High School – Delsea Regional School District

Hudson – Ariel Babcock – Social Studies Teacher & Media Specialist – Weehawken High School – Weehawken Township School District

Hunterdon – Brian Smith – English Teacher – Delaware Valley Regional High School – Delaware Valley Regional School District

Mercer – Leigh Cline – Second Grade Teacher – Parkway Elementary School – Ewing Township School District

Middlesex – Leana Malinowsky – Second Grade Teacher – Private Nicholas Minue School – Carteret School District

Monmouth – Kimberly Grigoli – Kindergarten Teacher – Spring Lake Heights Elementary School – Spring Lake Heights School District

Morris – Andrea Ritacco – Business Education Teacher – Whippany Park High School – Hanover Park Regional High School District

Ocean – Christine Girtain – Science Teacher & Director of Authentic Science Research – Toms River High School North & South – Toms River Regional School District

Passaic – Emily Blumberg – Science Teacher – Passaic Preparatory Academy – Passaic School District

Salem – Erika Knorr – Kindergarten Teacher – Elmer Elementary School – Pittsgrove Township School District

Somerset – Ian Evans – English Language Arts Teacher – Hillsborough Middle School – Hillsborough Township School District

Sussex – Christine O'Brien-Mase – Art and Photography Teacher – Sparta High School – Sparta School District

Union – Candice Testa – First Grade Teacher – William J. McGinn Elementary School – Scotch Plains-Fanwood School District

Warren – Daryl Detrick – Computer Science Teacher – Warren Hills Regional High School – Warren Hills Regional School District

Follow Morristown Minute on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter for more state and local updates.

I'm interested (2)
I disagree with this
This is unverified